WV - University of Charleston hosting flu shot clinics - WOWK 13 Charleston, Huntington WV News, Weather, Sports

University of Charleston hosting flu shot clinics

Posted: Updated:
  • Most Popular StoriesMost Popular StoriesMore>>

  • UPDATE: Neurosurgeon dies after vehicle accident in Putnam County, WV

    UPDATE: Neurosurgeon dies after vehicle accident in Putnam County, WV

    Sunday, September 14 2014 12:19 AM EDT2014-09-14 04:19:39 GMT
    Dr. David WeinsweigDr. David Weinsweig
     A neurosurgeon with St. Mary's Neurosurgery has died.
     A neurosurgeon with St. Mary's Neurosurgery has died.

  • Man arrested after firing several rounds into a Charleston, West Virginia home

    Man arrested after firing several rounds into a Charleston, West Virginia home

    Sunday, September 14 2014 2:37 PM EDT2014-09-14 18:37:58 GMT
    Charleston Police officers say 19 year old Brandon Woodrum was arrested after he fired several rounds into a home located 6558 MacCorkle Avenue on Sunday, September 14th. 
    Charleston Police officers say 19 year old Brandon Woodrum was arrested after he fired several rounds into a home located 6558 MacCorkle Avenue on Sunday, September 14th. 
  • DEPUTIES: Intoxicated woman arrested at local high school football game, routine search turns up concealed weapon

    DEPUTIES: Intoxicated woman arrested at local high school football game, routine search turns up concealed weapon

    Saturday, September 13 2014 12:44 PM EDT2014-09-13 16:44:44 GMT
    Lisa Dawn LizotteLisa Dawn Lizotte
    The suspect is charged with public intoxication, and obstructing a police officer, both misdemeanors. She is also charged with the felony offense of possessing a firearm on the grounds of a secondary public school.
    The suspect is charged with public intoxication, and obstructing a police officer, both misdemeanors. She is also charged with the felony offense of possessing a firearm on the grounds of a secondary public school.
CHARLESTON, WV -

Get ready to roll up your sleeve for a flu shot. The University of Charleston School of Pharmacy's PharmUC Patient Care Clinic is hosting flu shot clinics. They began on Monday, Oct. 28, and will continue most days through Thursday, Nov. 21.

Flu shots will be free to Medicare recipients and $25 for all others. PharmUC is located in the School of Pharmacy building on the first floor, according to a news release from the University of Charleston.

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention recommends everyone at least six months of age receive an annual flu shot to protect against the influenza virus. People 65 or older, small children, pregnant women and those with certain medical conditions such as asthma and diabetes are highly recommended to get a flu shot to avoid serious complications. "It's a minor vaccine so you should definitely come in and get it to get that prevention, rather than missing many days of work and being sick during the year," said pharmacist Krista Carpenter.

A full schedule of flu shot clinic days is listed below.

  • Monday, Oct. 28: 11 a.m. - 1 p.m.
  • Tuesday, Oct. 29: 3-5 p.m.
  • Wednesday, Oct. 30: 8-10 a.m.
  • Thursday, Oct. 31: 2-3- p.m.
  • Friday, Nov. 1: 10-11:30 a.m.
  • Monday, Nov. 4: 11 a.m. - 1 p.m.
  • Tuesday, Nov. 5: Noon-2 p.m.
  • Wednesday, Nov. 6: 11 a.m. - 1 p.m.
  • Thursday, Nov. 7: 8-10 a.m.
  • Monday, Nov. 11: 8-10 a.m.
  • Tuesday, Nov. 12: 2-4 p.m.
  • Wednesday, Nov. 13: 8-10 a.m.
  • Thursday, Nov. 14: 8-10 a.m.
  • Friday, Nov. 15: 10 a.m. - 2 p.m.
  • Monday, Nov. 18: 8-10 a.m.
  • Tuesday, Nov. 19: Noon-2 p.m.
  • Wednesday, Nov. 20: 8-10 a.m.
  • Thursday, Nov. 21: 8-10 a.m.