WV - University of Charleston hosting flu shot clinics - WOWK 13 Charleston, Huntington WV News, Weather, Sports

University of Charleston hosting flu shot clinics

Posted: Updated:
  • Most Popular StoriesMost Popular StoriesMore>>

  • Department of Health Alleges Unsafe Practices at McMechen Pain Management Clinic

    Department of Health Alleges Unsafe Practices at McMechen Pain Management Clinic

    Tuesday, July 22 2014 4:20 PM EDT2014-07-22 20:20:59 GMT
    The Ohio Department of Health and the West Virginia Department of Health are encouraging patients of a McMechen pain management clinic to talk with their primary care physician about testing for some infectious diseases following an investigation of the facility by the West Virginia Bureau for Public Health.
    The Ohio Department of Health and the West Virginia Department of Health are encouraging patients of a McMechen pain management clinic to talk with their primary care physician about testing for some infectious diseases following an investigation of the facility by the West Virginia Bureau for Public Health.
  • UPDATE: Man shot during fight on Charleston's east end

    UPDATE: Man shot during fight on Charleston's east end

    Tuesday, July 22 2014 9:10 PM EDT2014-07-23 01:10:50 GMT
    A man was shot in the hand during a robbery on Charleston's east end on July 22 at about 10:30 a.m.
    A man was shot in the hand during a robbery on Charleston's east end on July 22 at about 10:30 a.m.
  • UPDATE: Dirty Girl Mud Run scheduled in Charleston, WV now canceled

    UPDATE: Dirty Girl Mud Run scheduled in Charleston, WV now canceled

    Tuesday, July 22 2014 11:38 PM EDT2014-07-23 03:38:13 GMT
    UPDATE: 13 NEWS has learned the Dirty Girl Mud Run has been officially canceled for this weekend in Charleston. 
    UPDATE: 13 NEWS has learned the Dirty Girl Mud Run has been officially canceled for this weekend in Charleston. 
CHARLESTON, WV -

Get ready to roll up your sleeve for a flu shot. The University of Charleston School of Pharmacy's PharmUC Patient Care Clinic is hosting flu shot clinics. They began on Monday, Oct. 28, and will continue most days through Thursday, Nov. 21.

Flu shots will be free to Medicare recipients and $25 for all others. PharmUC is located in the School of Pharmacy building on the first floor, according to a news release from the University of Charleston.

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention recommends everyone at least six months of age receive an annual flu shot to protect against the influenza virus. People 65 or older, small children, pregnant women and those with certain medical conditions such as asthma and diabetes are highly recommended to get a flu shot to avoid serious complications. "It's a minor vaccine so you should definitely come in and get it to get that prevention, rather than missing many days of work and being sick during the year," said pharmacist Krista Carpenter.

A full schedule of flu shot clinic days is listed below.

  • Monday, Oct. 28: 11 a.m. - 1 p.m.
  • Tuesday, Oct. 29: 3-5 p.m.
  • Wednesday, Oct. 30: 8-10 a.m.
  • Thursday, Oct. 31: 2-3- p.m.
  • Friday, Nov. 1: 10-11:30 a.m.
  • Monday, Nov. 4: 11 a.m. - 1 p.m.
  • Tuesday, Nov. 5: Noon-2 p.m.
  • Wednesday, Nov. 6: 11 a.m. - 1 p.m.
  • Thursday, Nov. 7: 8-10 a.m.
  • Monday, Nov. 11: 8-10 a.m.
  • Tuesday, Nov. 12: 2-4 p.m.
  • Wednesday, Nov. 13: 8-10 a.m.
  • Thursday, Nov. 14: 8-10 a.m.
  • Friday, Nov. 15: 10 a.m. - 2 p.m.
  • Monday, Nov. 18: 8-10 a.m.
  • Tuesday, Nov. 19: Noon-2 p.m.
  • Wednesday, Nov. 20: 8-10 a.m.
  • Thursday, Nov. 21: 8-10 a.m.