Gov. Tomblin expands FEMA assistance requests to seven additional counties


Charleston, W.Va. – On June 28, 2016, Gov. Tomblin expanded his request for a federal Major Disaster Declaration from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) to provide assistance for Clay, Fayette, Monroe, Pocahontas, Roane, Summers and Webster counties.

Greenbrier, Kanawha and Nicholas counties have already received federal declaration and FEMA teams are on the ground working with residents and providing individual assistance.

If Gov. Tomblin’s request is approved by FEMA, these additional seven counties would also be eligible for federal assistance, which includes individual assistance, Damage-Frequency Assessment (DFA), Emergency Protective Measures and Debris Removal.

“As cleanup continues in so many communities across West Virginia, we are seeing the overwhelming damage that has been left behind,” Gov. Tomblin said. “To ensure all those affected by these devastating floods have access to the assistance they need to rebuild their homes, businesses and communities, I have expanded my request for federal aid to include seven additional counties. I appreciate the continued support of our congressional delegation as we work with federal partners to provide critical resources to West Virginians in need as quickly as possible.”

West Virginians needing assistance should contact their local offices of emergency management.

Contact information for each county office can be found at:

Those who need cleanup assistance, are available to volunteer or want to donate should visit or connect with an agency in their local community.

Individuals and businesses in counties that have been declared federal disaster areas should visit or call 1-800-621-FEMA (3362).

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Download the FREE WOWK 13 News App

Washington DC Bureau

More Washington DC Bureau

Don't Miss

Trending Stories