13 News Rides Along With Charleston Police Department’s Officer of the Year

Cpl. Brandon Burton has been named Charleston Police Department's 2018 Officer of the Year.

CHARLESTON, WV (WOWK) – The Charleston Police Department has named Corporal Brandon Burton the 2018 Officer of the Year.
Burton has been with the department for twelve years, worked as a detective with the Special Enforcement Unit and currently serves on the Patrol Division. 

“I love putting the unifrom on, coming out to work and working with these guys that I work with and trying to make a difference in the community,” Says Cpl. Burton.

Burton’s nomination comes from his heroism, professional conduct, positive attitude, and outstanding work performance with the dapartment. 

The night Burton was named Officer of the Year, Sergeant Matt Webb gave this speech:

C-Shift’s nominee for the 2018 Jerry A. Jones Officer of the Year Award is Cpl. Brandon Burton. BB and I  first met back in the summer of 2007 when I became one of his Field Training Officers.

From the beginning, I knew without a doubt Burton is the quality of person our department strives to find each and every time we hire someone. He’s the kind of officer we want responding to help one of our loved ones.

This profession takes more than just proactivity and working hard, there must be balance, a certain finesse, that makes one a great police officer… and Brandon seems to have perfected it.

He’s not just a great cop, but a true brother to the men and women he works with.. It’s an honor to call him a brother, a friend and a reason my chest puffs out when I tell people I am a member of the Charleston Police Department.

Burton shares the same qualities he demontrates on the job everyday with his wife and three children at home.

“They’ll say ‘you’re going to go arrest somebody today’ and then I say ‘I’m going to help somebody today,” He adds.

The other nominees for the 2018 Charleston Police Department Officer of the Year award were Ptl. Daniel Cart, Cpl. Martin McMicken, Ptl. Daniel Eisenberg, Cpl. Stephen Petty Jr., and Det. Matthew Petty.

Officers are nominated for this award by their Commanders, and then the nominees are voted on by the Department’s Bureau Chiefs to determine who is selected as Officer of the Year. 

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Washington DC Bureau

More Washington DC Bureau

Don't Miss

Trending Stories

Local Events