Coronavirus Updates

White House data shows fewer KY counties in red


FRANKFORT, KY (WOWK) – Kentucky Gov. Andy Beshear released new White House data showing the counties in the Bluegrass State with higher positivity rates.

County’s listed as red in the data, meaning they have a positivity rate of 10% or higher, include Lewis, Warren, Union, Russell, Christian, Trigg, Laurel, Logan, Marshall, Green, Grayson, Livington, and Monroe.

The data lists 44 Kentucky counties listed as yellow, meaning they have a positivity rate of 5-10%. Counties in our region in this list include Greenup, Boyd and Pike counties.

Beshear confirmed 776 new COVID-19 cases and eight additional deaths, bringing the state to a total of 58,764 cases and 1,082 deaths. The governor says 91 of the new cases are children 18 and younger.

The state’s positivity rate remains below 4% for the second day in a row, the rate is currently listed at 3.89%, down from yesterday’s rate of 3.97%. The governor says the state has conducted 1,090,160 COVID-19 tests and at least 11,043 Kentuckians have recovered.

For local and breaking news, weather alerts, video and more, download the FREE WOWK 13 News App from the Apple App Store or the Google Play Store.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Download the FREE WOWK 13 News App

Washington DC Bureau

More Washington DC Bureau

Don't Miss

Trending Stories