Governor Justice declares State of Emergency for 18 WV counties

West Virginia

UPDATE 11:40 a.m.: During his semi-daily briefing, West Virginia Governor Jim Justice said emergency management officials are asking President Joe Biden to declare the 18 counties under the State of Emergency as disaster counties. He says this will provide opportunities for FEMA and federal aid to help those areas.

Justice says the West Virginia National Guard is providing service to those in affected areas. Director of the Joint Inter-Agency Vaccine Task Force Maj. Gen. James Hoyer (ret.) says many of those areas were still dealing with the effects of last month’s ice storms and the recent weather conditions have slowed some vaccination efforts.

State of Emergency Counties in RED

CHARLESTON, WV (WOWK)—Due to heavy rainfall and flooding this week, West Virginia Governor Jim Justice declared a State of Emergency on Wednesday for the following counties: Boone, Braxton, Cabell, Clay, Greenbrier, Jackson, Kanawha, Lincoln, Logan, Mason, Mingo, Pocahontas, Preston, Putnam, Randolph, Roane, Upshur, and Wayne.

All 18 counties were affected by heavy rains, which caused flooding, power outages, and road blocakages.

The Governor has directed the West Virginia Emergency Management Division to implement the West Virginia Emergency Operations Plan as it relates to flood response and mobilize appropriate personnel and resources to respond to the emergency.

For local and breaking news, weather alerts, video and more, download the FREE WOWK 13 News App from the Apple App Store or the Google Play Store.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Download the FREE WOWK 13 News App

Washington DC Bureau

More Washington DC Bureau

Don't Miss

Trending Stories