Chesapeake mayor and several village leaders resign


CHESAPEAKE, OH. (WOWK) – The village of Chesapeake’s council meeting took a turn last night as multiple leaders stepped down.

Council Member Paul Hart said last night’s meeting was nothing like he’s ever experienced before, as Chesapeake Mayor Kimberley Oldaker and council members Lonnie Sawyers, Larry Estep, Allen Barrett, Beth Brown and Fiscal Officer Lenny Abrams all resigned.

There is no word yet on the reason that the mayor and multiple leaders resigned, but now Chesapeake is left with only two council members.

Councilmember Nate Ittig is taking over as acting mayor for the time being.

The village council will meet Friday to vote on new council members.

Follow Andie Bernhardt on Facebook and Twitter to stay up-to-date with her reporting for 13 News!

For local and breaking news, weather alerts, video and more, download the FREE WOWK 13 News App from the Apple App Store or the Google Play Store.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Download the FREE WOWK 13 News App

Washington DC Bureau

More Washington DC Bureau

Trending Stories

Don't Miss

Trending Stories