Gold and Blue Nation

11 Mountaineers suspended for season opener


11 West Virginia football players will be suspended for the Mountaineers’ 2020 season opener against Eastern Kentucky for a violation of team rules, head coach Neal Brown announced before kickoff on Saturday.

The suspended players are T.J. Banks (TE/r-So.), Chase Behrndt (OL/r-Sr.), Zach Davis (OL/r-Sr.), Zack Dobson (WR/Jr.), Isaiah Esdale (WR/r-Jr.), JP Hadley (LS/r-So.), Mike O’Lauglin (TE/r-So.), T.J. Simmons (WR/r-Sr.), Tairiq Stewart (OL/Jr.), Junior Uzebu (OL/r-So.) and David Vincent-Okloli (CB/Fr.).

Five of the names mentioned — Banks, Behrndt, O’Laughlin, Simmons and Uzebu — were listed as starters in WVU’s most recent depth chart.

Be sure to follow Gold and Blue Nation for updates on the Mountaineers’ season opener in Morgantown.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Download the FREE WOWK 13 News App

Washington DC Bureau

More Washington DC Bureau

More on the Mountaineers

More Gold and Blue Nation

Follow GBN on Twitter!

Don't Miss

12SportsZone Twitter