CARY, NC (WOWK) – The Marshall men’s soccer team defeated Indiana 1 to 0 to win the NCAA College Cup Championship.

The 10th-ranked Marshall men’s soccer team etched its name into the NCAA College Cup history books on Monday, defeating the 3rd-ranked Indiana Hoosiers for the National Championship. Senior Jamil Roberts hit his third game-winner of the NCAA Tournament scoring the golden goal in the 98th minute.

The Herd already had beaten number one ranked Clemson, Georgetown, who was the defending national champions and North Carolina in the final four match.

“Immensely, immensely proud to be a part of this team,” coach Grassie said. “We all really kind of came together this season and we just got better and better and better. We had some bumps in the road. There are definitely a couple of teams tonight that will be happy they beat a national champion. But, we continued to learn from each lesson and each set back.

“It was the way it felt. It just felt amazing to be around this group. Everyone felt dialed in. Just couldn’t get enough of hanging out, enough of watching scouts and film and working with the guys. It was just one of those things where everyone was feeding off it more and more. And just being able to hang out socially for these last couple weeks has been fantastic.

“Big congratulations to Indiana. I thought they played really well. They caused us problems on the counterattack especially in the first half. We had to deal with that, but then we just kept doing our thing, playing our style, keeping the ball, knocking it around. We got more and more chances and it just felt like there was only going to be one to win it. Glad to get (the winner) when we did. When it went in, it just felt surreal.”

NCAA All-Tournament Team
Filip Mirkovic, Pittsburgh, M
Jasper Loeffelsend, Pittsburgh, D
Joey Maher, Indiana, D
Herbert Endeley, Indiana, F
Joe Pickering, North Carolina, D
Nathan Dossantos, Marshall, D
Vinicius Fernandes, Marshall, F
Max Schneider, Marshall, M
Vitor Dias, Marshall, M
Offensive Most Outstanding Player: Jamil Roberts, Marshall, F
Defensive Most Outstanding Player: Roman Celentano, Indiana, GK